Republish
Reprint

Breaking up is never easy. Having to see posts by your ex multiple times a day on social media makes matters even worse. Facebook understand the pain of ending a relationship apparently, and so it has launched new tool to help users get over their ex by hiding posts.

That’s right. As soon as Facebook sees you change your status from “In A Relationship” to “Single,” the service offers you the ability to “hide” any posts by the dearly departed along with mentions and photos posted by others. This way, you don’t have to unfriend or block the ex, making you look like a basic b*tch.

For the option to become available to you though, it does require that you and your ex were connected on Facebook as “in a relationship.” If you hadn’t registered them as your sweetie pie on Facebook then the option isn’t available.

The hiding exes feature is something Facebook is just testing currently and has been made available to mobile users in the United States. The company plans to roll the feature out though to more places in early 2016.

"Facebook is a place for sharing life's important moments, which for many people include their romantic relationships," said Facebook product manager Kelly Winters in a statement. "When a relationship ends, we've heard from people that they sometimes have questions about the options available to them on Facebook."

Besides offering the option not to see your ex’s posts or pictures, Facebook has also allowed people who are no longer in a relationship some additional privacy features. The feature allows users to decide if they want their ex’s to be able to see post that haven’t been made public. It also allows users to untag themselves from posts with their exes.

The feature is one of many Facebook has released in the recent past to help people deal with difficult moments in their lives.